Nav Durga Statue

Nav Durga Statue
The Hindu Goddess of Durga is the most powerful aspect of Devi.  Durga means “the invincible” or “the inaccessible”. Kali is considered by Hindus to be an aspect of Durga.  Durga is thus considered the fiercer, demon-fighting form of Shiva’s wife, the goddess Parvati. Durga manifests fearlessness and patience, and never loses her sense of humor, even during spiritual battles of epic proportion.

which translates to Nav Durgas, is the manifestation of Durga in Her nine different avatars or aspects. These nine manifestations are Shailaputra, Brahmacharini, Chandrakanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri – together worshiped during the Navratri festival (Nine Divine Nights). On each of the nine nights of Navratri, one of the forms of Durga is worshiped.  Each of the nine forms of the goddess has a special significance as listed below.

1  Sailaputri (Daughter of the Himalayas)

2  Brahmacharini (One who observes the state of celibacy doing penance)

3  Chandraghanta ( One who bears the moon in her necklace )

4  Kusmanda (the creator of the universe)

5  Skanda-Mata (The mother of Skanda, Karttikeya, born out of her powers)

6  Katyayani (The daughter of sage Katyayana, who incarnated to help the Devas)

7  Kalaratri (black as night, destroyer of Kali)

8  Mahagauri (the wife of Lord Shiva, doing great penance)

9  Siddhidatri (Provider of Siddhis, giver of mystic powers)

Ganesh Moorti Art, Jaipur, Rajasthan